Tuesday, 2 August 2016


Nominees for maiden edition of Ghana Makeup Awards was released at the media launch held at Accra City Hotel in Accra.

The Ghana Makeup Awards celebrates makeup artists whose contributions to the beauty industry have not yet been duly recognized, as well as the younger generation of makeup artists, who are breaking new grounds and pushing the boundaries in the makeup profession.

The Awards is also to acknowledge the work of the makeup brands, retailers and other industry players who support the makeup artists to develop the industry in Ghana."

In order to ensure the most equitable process for choosing the best among peers, Makeup Ghana opened up nominations to all makeup artists, brands and businesses across Ghana.

Nominations for fourteen categories were accepted and nominees were shortlisted to four finalists for each category, based on criteria published as part of the nomination process.

The final category, the Trailblazer Award, is a lifetime achievement award, decided upon by the Awards Board.

Judges have vast professional experience and exposure to the artistry and business of the beauty and makeup industry.

They include Marco Louis (Mac Cosmetics Senior MUA, West Africa); Deborah Asare (Beauty Editor, Glam Africa Magazine ); Eki Ogunbor (Beauty Editor, Bellanaija Beauty); Nikki Boa-Amponsem (Founder/CEO, 2nd Image School of Cosmetology).

See full list of nominees below
1. Best TV Makeup
Viasat 1

2. Best Beauty Retail Shop
Evita Joseph Beauty
Rozay International
Black Secret

3. Best Makeup Beauty School
FC School of cosmetology
Abrantie College
Black Secret Beauty College
Salon Services Beauty Academy

4. Beauty Brand of the Year
Black Secret Makeup
Maybeline New York
Sleek Makeup
Paba Cosmetic

5. Most Promising Ghanaian Owned Brand
Black Secret Makeup
Colorbox Cosmetics
Forever Clair
Evita Joseph

6. Best Beauty Makeup Blog
Annette Akye
Saharmain Odoi
Erica Ewurabena Sarpong
Grace Hayford

7. Best Beauty Makeup Vlog
Alice Awuni (Lamisi)
Jessica Owusu Ansah (Jessica)
Abigail Owusu Ansah (Theabigailowusuansah)
Akai Kotei (Akai Kotei)

8. Best Special Effects Makeup Artist
Nana AkuaAmoakoa (Adinkrahemaa)
Vivian Adjetey (Naa Adoma)
Lydia Shitey (Lydia Ashitey
Grace Hayford GH Beauty ( Gh Beauty Artistry)

9. Best Editorial Makeup Artist
Sandra Don-Arthur (Alexandrina Makeup)
Nancy Blaq (Nancy Black)
Alice Awuni (Lamisi Makeup Artistry
Grace Nwokoma (NogGH)

10. Best Bridal Makeup Artist
Alice Awuni (Lamisi Makeup Artistry)
Winnie Leon ( faces of Leon)
Sally Abena (Fixy Looks Artistry
Erica Ewurabena Sarpong( Ewurabena Brides)

11. Best Celebrity Makeup Artist
Nancy Black (Nancy Blaq)
Lawrencia Owusu (Just Sparklesand Shine)
Sandra Don-Arthur (Alexandrina Makeup)
Ashiake Momo (Loox Artist)

12. Most Glamorous Celebrity
Rebecca Acheampong ( Becca)
Joselyn Dumas
Zynnell Zuh
Selly Gelley

13. Most Promising Makeup Artist
Angela Potter (Makeup By The Duchess)
Christabel Jones ( CJZ Makeover)
Abena Egyirwa Arthur ( Maquillage By Abyna)
Hidaya Abubakar (Hiddy’s Creation)

14. Makeup Artist of the year
Priscilla Nyarko  (Glam Faces Makeup Studio)
Lawrencia Owusu (Just Sparkles and Shine)
Sandra Don-Arthur (Alexandrina Makeup)
Nancy Blaq (Nancy Blaq)
Trail Blazer
Grace Amey Obeng



1 blogger-facebook: